I wanted to beat the %&^% out of her BUT…

I saw something tonight that both angered me and broke my heart. I stopped to grab dinner for the family at McD, a rare treat for us. I glanced over at the car next to me and saw an 8 month old infant. Strapped into a high back Graco booster seat. With a lap belt.  My initial instinct was shock. And anger. An INFANT in a HIGH BACK with nothing but a seat belt to hold her in. I was ready to scream. To yell. To have a heart attack.  At the sheer irresponsibility and insanity. I took a deep breath, got out of my car, knocked on their window and asked how old the little sweetie was and if they were aware of the “new” car seat laws requiring a child be in a 5 point restraint  and rear facing until age 2. They were not, and the baby had outgrown her carrier seat. So I did what any mom would do. Called the cops and flipped my shit on their irresponsible asses  I gave them my extra car-seat. You see, I keep a 5 point harness in my car for long trips with Hurricane. Which he was almost too big for finally.   Hurricane does not ride more than 10 miles in a standard booster, and until next week on his 6th birthday I had no intention of moving him to a high back full time before he hit 50 pounds. But something about this woman and that baby touched me. So I gave them the seat Hurricane is just about out of. It won’t expire for another 3 years. And now I know the little one will be safe. I even installed it, as I have taken a certification class on seat installation, to ensure it had the best fit. The one woman of 3 in the car remarked it was a really nice seat and asked me why. I told her the truth.
I couldn’t live with myself knowing
a) a mother would lose her child because a seat was not in the budget if the cops pulled them over.
b) a sweet baby was injured from my inaction and
c) It was part of a movement to pay it forward, and she should be sure to do the same for someone down the line.

Hopefully I helped save a life, shape a life, and pass along a message. Pay it forward. It’s the movement that keeps giving. ❤

About momtroversial

I am a mom who often parents in ways that are considered too old fashioned or too unconventional. My husband went through a major mental health breakdown and took me on the roller coaster with him. At some point we will get off this damn ride. I recently went through a series of life altering events that have made me re-think my whole outlook on life. I am trying to be the kind of mom my work as a career nanny should have prepared me for but it does not always work. I hope to impact the lives of others that I KNOW are living with the same fears, hopes, dreams, anger, pain, joy, and more. Suicide and ink and children and life. That's about it. View all posts by momtroversial

2 responses to “I wanted to beat the %&^% out of her BUT…

Leave a Reply

